Crow on Red, originally uploaded by _Merlyn.

To talk about the recycled project is to talk about my love of many things. Crows, colours and computer innards.

When I took apart my first harddrive it amazed me that this collection of shiny bits held a person’s virtual life. It looked like a futuristic record player…and the reader looked like a crow’s beak. Yep my thought process such as it is…

Anyway, I don’t sketch, as a rule, despite all the urgings to the contrary from my various art college instructors, I create small paintings instead. This one is about 8″x10″.

I liken this to the way sculptors make maquettes. I paint small so that later I can paint big.

This painting is one in a serious of computer crow paintings.
It seemed fitting that the shiny things corvids like would go into making up a virtual corvid.

